Germany

& Kazakhstan

Germany and Kazakhstan share many common links: Among the EU member states, Germany plays a key role for Kazakhstan. Kazakhstan is Germany's biggest trade partner in Central Asia.

Trade partner
Kazakh exports are mainly oil, iron and steel products and chemical products. German exports mainly include machinery, electrical equipment, chemical products, cars, car parts and pharmaceutical products.
Common roots
There is a special "bridge" between the two countries formed by the Germans who have emigrated from Kazakhstan to Germany (about 800,000 "Kazakhstan Germans") and the German minority that still lives in Kazakhstan (about 180,000 people).
Cultural exchange
The promotion of German as a foreign language and the cultural support of the German minority have meant that Kazakhstan receives particular attention in German cultural and education policy abroad.

Germany

The Federal Republic of Germany is located in Central Europe and was founded on 23 May 1949. On 3 October 1990, West Germany was reunited with the eastern part of the country, from which it had been separated since the end of the Second World War.

  • Capital: Berlin
  • Government type: parliamentary democracy
  • Area: approximately 357,000 square kilometres
  • Population: about 81.8 million people, including about 800,000 Kazakhstan Germans.
  • With a gross domestic product of around three trillion euros in 2015, Germany has one of the world's strongest economies.
    The Federal Republic is a pioneer in the development of renewable energy and an international frontrunner in climate protection.

    16 states, 16 attractive destinations

    Germany is one of the top holiday destinations in the world, boasting scenic and diverse landscapes all the way from the North Sea and Baltic coasts in the north right down to the Alps in the south.

    1 / 16

    Baden-Württemberg: gourmet delights in southern Germany

    Walking in the Black Forest, exploring Lake Constance, relaxing in Baden-Baden and soaking up the history in Heidelberg. There are plenty of good reasons to travel to Baden-Württemberg — the state with the most star-rated restaurants and the most hours of sunshine. Welcome to south-west Germany!

    Find out more
    2 / 16

    Bavaria: Germany's no. 1 holiday region

    Inspiration and a lust for life. Blue skies and crystal-clear lakes. Small medieval towns and vibrant cities. Bavarian traditions and warm hospitality. Mystical forests and snow-capped mountains. Outdoor activities and relaxation. UNESCO World Heritage and a wealth of cultural attractions.

    Find out more
    3 / 16

    Berlin: the city of possibility

    Berlin, the German capital, is renowned for its exceptional variety of attractions, its flourishing cultural scene and a way of life that is both fast-paced and relaxed.

    Find out more
    4 / 16

    Nature, culture and water: holidays in Brandenburg

    You don't need to go far to get away: All roads to Berlin lead through the holiday paradise of Brandenburg. This region encircling Germany's capital offers natural beauty, culture and the scenic lakelands. Breathe it in, get active and enjoy the great outdoors on your Brandenburg holiday.

    Find out more
    5 / 16

    Bremen and Bremerhaven: two cities — one region

    The sister cities of Bremen and Bremerhaven delight visitors with their remarkable worlds of discovery, unusual maritime and historical attractions and sensational art and culture.

    Find out more
    6 / 16

    Hamburg: Europe's green city on the Alster and Elbe

    A distinct maritime character and international outlook make the Hanseatic city of Hamburg one of Europe's finest destinations. Urban sparkle and natural beauty are the hallmarks of Hamburg, which boasts a wide range of hotels, restaurants, theatres and shops, chic beaches along the Elbe river, the verdant banks of the Alster, a buzzing port district and landmarks reflecting more than 1200 years of history.

    Find out more
    7 / 16

    Hessen. Discover a region of contrasts.

    The region of Hessen in the heart of Germany offers a whole host of holiday options. There is something for everyone — from culture, walking, cycling and wellness to family holidays, city breaks and outdoor adventures. Hessen is also easy to get to. Your holiday in the region can start straight away if you arrive at Frankfurt Airport.

    Find out more
    8 / 16

    Germany's 'must-sea' destination: Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania

    A whole 1900 kilometres of coastline lined with Baltic seaside resorts and sandy white beaches, UNESCO World Heritage towns and magnificent natural scenery. Just an hour's drive from the Baltic Sea is the start of the largest unbroken region of rivers and lakes in central Europe. The small towns and villages nestled between the Ice Age hills and riverscapes are home to around 2000 palaces, parks and stately homes, including northern Germany's answer to Neuschwanstein Castle.

    Find out more
    9 / 16

    Lower Saxony: Holidays from the Harz hills to the North Sea coast for experiences, discovery and relaxation

    The federal state of Lower Saxony, a region full of contrasting landscapes and attractive towns and cities, lies between the Ems and Elbe rivers. Lower Saxony is Germany's only federal state with both a coastline and mountains. In the region's north, the ebb and flow of the tides has produced the UNESCO World Heritage Wadden Sea.

    Find out more
    10 / 16

    North Rhine-Westphalia: a year-round destination

    Ludwig van Beethoven, Heinrich Heine and Joseph Beuys — Germany's most populous federal state has produced many influential artists and is one of the biggest cultural regions in Europe. Its numerous museums, theatres, orchestras and concert halls, plus its musicals and events, attract millions of visitors every year. Other cultural highlights include the five UNESCO World Heritage sites: Cologne Cathedral, Aachen Cathedral, Augustusburg Palace and Falkenlust Palace in Brühl, the Zollverein coal mine in Essen and Corvey Palace. Cologne's signature landmark is the most-visited attraction in Germany.

    Find out more
    11 / 16

    Rhineland-Palatinate: where the holiday is just part of the scenery

    Romantic castles, friendly locals and exquisite wines — enjoy all this and much more in Rhineland-Palatinate. The Ahr, Eifel, Hunsrück, Naheland, Moselle-Saar, Palatinate, Rheinhessen, Romantic Rhine and Westerwald regions with their vineyard slopes, dormant volcanoes and vibrant towns are as diverse and welcoming as the people who live in them!

    Find out more
    12 / 16

    Saarland — small in size, big in appeal

    Cycling tours in the Saarland are all about variety and the all-round cycling experience — from family-friendly routes along river valleys and cross-border tours into France and Luxembourg to challenging climbs in the Hunsrück hills. The Saar River Cycle Route is the first international long-distance route to be awarded four stars by the German Cyclists' Federation (ADFC).

    Find out more
    13 / 16

    Discover art, culture and natural scenery in Saxony — the region of world-class culture

    A holiday in Saxony is a holiday amidst 1000 years of history and heritage, with cultural breaks offering a chance to explore the legacies of famous composers, architects and artists. Saxony's holiday regions are ideal for combining city breaks with activity-based, family and wellness holidays — both in summer and in winter.

    Find out more
    14 / 16

    Saxony-Anhalt: for active holidays and a rendezvous with history and nature

    Saxony-Anhalt is a heartland of German history and attracts culturally minded holidaymakers with its sights of international standing. There is also plenty on offer for visitors with energy to burn and no shortage of stunning landscapes, which is why the region's motto is "Enjoy nature — breathe freely in Saxony-Anhalt".

    Find out more
    15 / 16

    Schleswig-Holstein: holidays in the real North

    Schleswig-Holstein is defined by the North Sea and the Baltic, with the rhythm of life determined by wind and waves and the ebb and flow of the tides. An ideal holiday destination for families, water sports enthusiasts and nature lovers.

    Find out more
    16 / 16

    Thuringia: a holiday region with timeless appeal

    A wide variety of landscapes, a remarkable number of castles and palaces, extraordinary architectural and cultural diversity and a great range of leisure activities — that is the holiday region of Thuringia. Goethe summed up Thuringia's merits in his inimitable style: "Where else in Germany can you find so many wonderful things in such close proximity?"

    Find out more

    Kazakhstan

    The Republic of Kazakhstan is located in Central Asia and declared its independence after the collapse of the Soviet Union on 16 December 1991.

  • Capital: Astana (since 1997)
  • Government type: Presidential system
  • Area: 2.7 million square kilometres, making Kazakhstan the ninth largest country in the world and the largest landlocked country in the world
  • Population: 17.7 million people, including about 180,000 citizens of the German minority
  • Official languages: Kazakh and Russian
  • Kazakhstan is rich in raw materials and, with a gross domestic product of around 195 billion US dollars in 2015, is considered a transition economy. The Kazakhstan 2050 Strategy announced by President Nursultan Nazarbayev includes a focus on the development of renewable energies and the aim to become one of the world's top 30 developed states.





    Astana

    The Kazakh capital Astana is located in the north-east of the country on the River Ishim and has approximately 853,000 inhabitants (as at 2014, source: Federal Foreign Office). This makes Astana the second largest city in the country after Almaty.

    Short history

    Astana was established in 1830 as a Russian fortress, Akmolinsk, and subsequently renamed several times. The city has had its present name Astana

    ("capital city" in English) since 1998, after it was declared the capital of Kazakhstan at the end of 1997. Since then Astana has experienced steady economic growth with a high level of construction activity and a continuous increase in the population.



    Astana's landmark is the 105 metre high Bayterek Tower, situated in the middle of Nurzhol Boulevard in the business and administrative centre. The EXPO site is also close to the administrative centre, which covers an area of approximately 173 hectares. The exhibition area is 25 hectares.

Deutschland

& Kasachstan

Deutschland und Kasachstan sind auf vielfältige Weise miteinander verbunden: Deutschland nimmt für Kasachstan unter den EU-Mitgliedsstaaten eine zentrale Rolle ein. Kasachstan ist für Deutschland der wichtigste Handelspartner in Zentralasien.

Partner im Handel
Die kasachischen Exporte umfassen vor allem Erdöl, Eisen- und Stahlerzeugnisse sowie chemische Produkte. Die deutschen Exporte setzen sich vornehmlich aus Maschinen, elektrischen Ausrüstungen, chemischen Produkten, Autos, Auto-Teilen und pharmazeutischen Erzeugnissen zusammen.
Gemeinsame Wurzeln
Eine besondere „Brücke“ zwischen beiden Ländern bilden die aus Kasachstan nach Deutschland eingewanderten Deutschen (etwa 800.000 „Kasachstandeutsche“) und die noch in Kasachstan lebende deutsche Minderheit (etwa 180.000 Menschen).
Kultureller Austausch
Die Förderung von Deutsch als Fremdsprache und die kulturelle Unterstützung der deutschen Minderheit haben dazu geführt, dass Kasachstan in der deutschen auswärtigen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik besondere Aufmerksamkeit erfährt.

Deutschland

Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland liegt in Mitteleuropa und wurde am 23. Mai 1949 gegründet. Am 3. Oktober 1990 folgte die Wiedervereinigung mit dem seit Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs abgetrennten Ostteil des Landes.

  • Hauptstadt: Berlin
  • Regierungsform: Parlamentarische Demokratie.
  • Fläche: rund 357.000 Quadratkilometern
  • Einwohner: rund 81,8 Millionen Menschen, darunter etwa 800.000 so genannte Kasachstan-Deutsche.
  • Mit einem Bruttoinlandsprodukt von rund drei Billionen Euro im Jahr 2015 zählt Deutschland zu den stärksten Volkswirtschaften der Welt.
    Die Bundesrepublik ist ein Pionier beim Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien und international ein Vorreiter beim Klimaschutz.

    16 Bundesländer, 16 attraktive Reiseziele

    Als Reiseland gehört Deutschland international zu den Top-Destinationen und bietet von den Küsten der Nord- und Ostsee bis zu den Alpen reizvolle und abwechslungsreiche Landschaften.

    1 / 16

    Das Genießerland im Süden: Baden-Württemberg

    Durch den Schwarzwald wandern und den Bodensee erleben, in Baden-Baden entspannen und in Heidelberg die Kultur genießen: Es gibt mehr als einen Grund, nach Baden-Württemberg zu reisen. In das Land mit den meisten Gastronomiesternen – und den meisten Sonnenstunden. Im Süden!

    Mehr erfahren
    2 / 16

    Bayern: Das Urlaubs- und Reiseland Nr. 1 in Deutschland

    Inspiration und Lebensgefühl pur. Weiß-blauer Himmel und kristallklare Seen. Mittelalterliche Städtchen und pulsierende Metropolen. Bayerisches Brauchtum und herzliche Gastfreundschaft. Mystische Wälder und schneebedeckte Gipfel. Outdoor Action und Erholung. UNESCO-Welterbe und ein facettenreiches kulturelles Angebot.

    Mehr erfahren
    3 / 16

    Berlin: Die Stadt der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten

    Berlin, die deutsche Hauptstadt, besticht durch seine außerordentliche Vielfalt an Sehenswürdigkeiten, das reiche Kulturleben und einen lebendigen und zugleich entspannten Lebensstil.

    Mehr erfahren
    4 / 16

    Natur, Kultur und Wasser: Urlaub Marke Brandenburg

    Das Weite liegt so nah: Wer sich in Berlin auf den Weg macht, ist schon im Urlaub angekommen. Denn rings um die urbane Hauptstadt erstreckt sich die Natur-, Kultur- und Seenlandschaft Brandenburgs. Durchatmen. Natur erleben. Aktiv werden. Das ist Urlaub Marke Brandenburg.

    Mehr erfahren
    5 / 16

    Bremen und Bremerhaven: Zwei Städte – ein Land

    Die Schwesterstädte Bremen und Bremerhaven beeindrucken ihre Besucher mit ungewohnten Einblicken in faszinierende Welten, ungewöhnlichen Ausblicken auf maritime und historische Sehenswürdigkeiten und viel Weitblick in Kunst und Kultur.

    Mehr erfahren
    6 / 16

    Hamburg: Europas grüne Metropole an Alster und Elbe

    Mit ihrem maritimen Charme und ihrer Weltoffenheit zählt die Hansestadt Hamburg zu Europas schönsten Metropolen und bietet ihren Gästen Stadt- und Naturleben pur: eine Vielfalt an Hotels, Restaurants, Theatern und Geschäften, schicke Elbstrände und grüne Alsterufer, einen lebendigen Hafen und Sehenswürdigkeiten aus über 1.200 Jahren Stadtgeschichte.

    Mehr erfahren
    7 / 16

    Hessen. Erleben Sie ein Land der Kontraste!

    Gelegen im Herzen Deutschlands, bietet Hessen eine ganze Palette von Urlaubsalternativen. Ob Kulturreise, Wandern, Radfahren, Wellnessaufenthalt, Familienurlaub, Städtetrip oder Naturerlebnis pur – in Hessen gibt es die passenden Angebote. Die Anfahrtswege sind dabei immer kurz: Ihr Deutschlandurlaub startet am Rhein-Main Airport schon mitten in Hessen!

    Mehr erfahren
    8 / 16

    Germany’s Must-Sea Destination: Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

    1.900 Küstenkilometer mit noblen Ostseebädern und weißen Stränden, altehrwürdigen UNESCO-Welterbestätten und imposanter Natur. Nur eine Autostunde südlich der Ostsee erstreckt sich Mitteleuropas größte zusammenhängende Seen- und Flusslandschaft. Die Kleinstädte und Orte zwischen deren eiszeitlichen Hügeln und Auen beherbergen etwa 2.000 Schlösser, Parks und Herrenhäuser, darunter auch das „Neuschwanstein des Nordens“.

    Mehr erfahren
    9 / 16

    Erleben, entdecken, entspannen – zwischen Harz und Nordsee – Urlaub in Niedersachsen!

    Direkt zwischen den Flüssen Ems und Elbe liegt das Bundesland Niedersachsen: eine Region voller landschaftlicher Vielfalt und sehenswerter Städte. Niedersachsen ist das einzige deutsche Bundesland, das Meer und Gebirge in sich vereint und hat mit der Nordseeküste und den sieben ostfriesischen Inseln eine der schönsten deutschen Meeresküsten.

    Mehr erfahren
    10 / 16

    Nordrhein-Westfalen: Ein Reiseziel für das ganze Jahr

    Ludwig van Beethoven, Heinrich Heine oder Joseph Beuys – das bevölkerungsreichste Bundesland hat viele bedeutende Künstler hervorgebracht und ist eine der größten Kulturregionen Europas. Zahlreiche Museen, Bühnen, Orchester und Konzerthallen, Musicals und Veranstaltungen locken jährlich viele Millionen Besucher an. Zu unseren großen Kulturleistungen gehören auch die fünf UNESCO-Welterbestätten: der Kölner Dom, der Aachener Dom, die Schlösser Augustusburg und Falkenlust in Brühl, Schloss Corvey und Zollverein in Essen. Das Wahrzeichen Kölns ist sogar die meistbesuchte Sehenswürdigkeit Deutschlands.

    Mehr erfahren
    11 / 16

    Rheinland-Pfalz: Hier wird Vielfalt gelebt!

    Romantische Burgen, fröhliche Menschen und edler Wein – das und noch viel mehr ist Rheinland-Pfalz! Die Regionen Ahrtal, Eifel, Hunsrück, Lahn, Naheland, Mosel-Saar, Pfalz, Rheinhessen, Romantischer Rhein und Westerwald sind mit ihren weiten Rebhängen, schlummernden Vulkanen und lebendigen Städten so vielfältig und begeisternd wie die Menschen selbst!

    Mehr erfahren
    12 / 16

    Saarland – klein, grün und mit grenzenlosem Charme

    Mit seinen Radtouren setzt das Saarland auf Fahrerlebnis und Abwechslung: familienfreundliche Strecken entlang der Flusstäler, Grenzgängertouren nach Frankreich und Luxemburg oder schweißtreibende Anstiege in die Hunsrückhöhen. Erradeln Sie auf höchster Qualität das Saarland entlang des Saar-Radwegs, der als erste grenzüberschreitende Fernroute vom ADFC mit vier Sternen bewertet wurde.

    Mehr erfahren
    13 / 16

    Kunst, Kultur und Natur erleben in Sachsen. Land von Welt

    Urlaub in Sachsen ist Urlaub in einer 1.000-jährigen Kulturlandschaft. Kulturreisen führen auf die Spuren berühmter Komponisten, Baumeister und Künstler. In den Ferienregionen lassen sich Städtereisen perfekt mit Aktivurlaub, Familienurlaub und Vitalurlaub kombinieren – und zwar im Sommer und im Winter.

    Mehr erfahren
    14 / 16

    Sachsen-Anhalt: Kultur- und Naturerlebnisse im Kernland deutscher Geschichte

    Sachsen-Anhalt gilt als Kernland deutscher Geschichte und heißt Kulturinteressierte willkommen, Sehenswertes von Weltrang zu entdecken. Groß ist die Auswahl auch für Aktivurlauber, die dem Motto „Naturfreude – Durchatmen in Sachsen-Anhalt“ folgen und dabei einzigartige Landschaften erleben.

    Mehr erfahren
    15 / 16

    Schleswig-Holstein: Urlaub im echten Norden

    Die Nord- und die Ostsee prägen das Land Schleswig-Holstein. Wind, Watt und Wellen, Ebbe und Flut bestimmen hier den Lebensrhythmus der Menschen. Ein ideales Urlaubsland für Familien, Wassersportler und Naturfreunde.

    Mehr erfahren
    16 / 16

    Wo Urlaub noch Erholung ist – das Reiseland Thüringen

    Abwechslungsreiche Landschaften, eine sagenhafte Dichte an Burgen und Schlössern, eine unvergleichliche architektonische und kulturelle Vielfalt und jede Menge Freizeitspaß – dafür steht das Urlaubsland Thüringen. Seit Goethe hat keiner die Vorzüge Thüringens treffender zusammengefasst: „Wo noch in deutschen Landen findet man so viel Gutes auf so engem Fleck?“

    Mehr erfahren

    Kasachstan

    Die Republik Kasachstan liegt in Zentralasien und hat nach dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion am 16. Dezember 1991 ihre Unabhängigkeit erklärt.

  • Hauptstadt: Astana (seit 1997)
  • Regierungsform: Präsidialsystem.
  • Fläche: rund 2,7 Millionen Quadratkilometer (neuntgrößtes Land der Erde und größter Binnenstaat der Welt)
  • Einwohner: rund 17,7 Millionen Menschen, darunter etwa 180.000 Mitglieder der deutschen Minderheit.
  • Amtssprachen: Kasachisch und Russisch.
  • Kasachstan ist ein rohstoffreiches Land und gehört mit einem Bruttoinlandsprodukt von rund 195 Milliarden US-Dollar im Jahr 2015 zur Gruppe der erfolgreichen Transformationsstaaten. Die von Präsident Nursultan Nasarbajew verkündete Strategie „Kasachstan 2050“ setzt unter anderem auf den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien und sieht langfristig den Aufstieg des Landes in die Gruppe der 30 am meisten entwickelten Staaten vor.





    Astana

    Die kasachische Hauptstadt Astana liegt im Nordosten des Landes an dem Fluss Ischim und hat rund 853.000 Einwohner (Stand 2014, Quelle: Auswärtiges Amt). Damit ist Astana nach Almaty die zweitgrößte Stadt des Landes.

    Kleine Historie

    Astana wurde 1830 als russische Festung Akmolinsk gegründet und anschließend mehrfach umbenannt. Seinen heutigen Namen Astana

    (deutsch: Hauptstadt) trägt die Stadt seit 1998, nachdem sie Ende 1997 zur Hauptstadt Kasachstans erklärt worden war. Seitdem erlebt Astana ein stetiges Wirtschaftswachstum mit hoher Bautätigkeit und einen kontinuierlichen Anstieg der Bevölkerung.



    Wahrzeichen Astanas ist der 105 Meter hohe Bajterek-Turm in der Mitte des Water-Green-Boulevards im Regierungsviertel. In der Nähe des Regierungsviertels liegt auch das EXPO-Gelände, das eine Fläche von rund 173 Hektar umfasst. Die Ausstellungsfläche beträgt 25 Hektar.